Summer School “#FreeMedia4WesternBalkans” at the University of Split

Deadline : 25 Jul 2019

Private non-profit University: south east european law school

All specialities

Study level: Postgraduate

Viewed 514 times

Summer School “#FreeMedia4WesternBalkans” at the University of Split

The Summer School will take place at Faculty of Law, the University of Split from 22 – 28 of September 2019 (22 and 28 are travel days). It will be organized within the framework of the project FreeMedia4WesternBalkans: Promoting Legal Education in the field of Media law, Democratization and the EU accession process of the SEELS network faculties and the Europa-Institut of Saarland University (Germany), financially supported by DAAD and Federal
Foreign Office of Germany.

The project fosters media freedom in the aspiring candidate countries of South East Europe as well as within the European Union itself. By becoming familiar with the media legislation, students as future lawyers will likely be more aware of related infringements in their future work as judges, attorneys, public servants, and practitioners. The program will be delivered in English with a selection of the following topics (preliminary list, changes will be possible): Introduction to the constitutional right of freedom of expression, particularly the freedom of press and media; Important Judgements of the CJEU and the ECHR; The constitutional hate speech exception and the prohibition of hate speech; National and EU law of defamation in the context of the media; Protection of privacy as a limitation for the freedom of media; Racial and religious hatred and obscenity; National security restrictions; The regulation of the print and broadcasting media; Contempt of court and the protection of journalists’ sources; Particularities of Digital and Social Media; Overview of national and EU media laws; Discussion with stakeholders about their practical work and the daily restrictions

There are 26 places available and the selection is based on the following eligibility criteria:

The participation in the summer school will be awarded a certificate of successful completion provided regular attendance of classes and successful completion of given tasks. It will be the individual decision of the academic institution of the participant if the certificate is recognized for obtaining ECTS.

The selected candidates will be provided with TRAVEL and ACCOMMODATION GRANTS.

Discover available opportunities in Croatia

Do not forget to mention Mina7 in your application.

Opportunities: Conferences & Seminars

Host Country: Croatia

Sharing is caring

Choose your study destination


Choose the country you wish to travel to study for free, work or volunteer

Please find also


Not a member? Sign Up

Summer School “#FreeMedia4WesternBalkans” at the University of Split

Date limite : 25 juil. 2019

Université privée a but non lucratif: École de droit de l'Europe du sud-est

Toutes spécialités

Niveau d'études: Troisième cycle

Consultée 514 fois

Summer School “#FreeMedia4WesternBalkans” at the University of Split

Les cours d'été auront lieu à la faculté de droit de l'université de Split du 22 au 28 septembre 2019 (22 et 28 jours de voyage). Il sera organisé dans le cadre du projet FreeMedia4WesternBalkans: Promouvoir l'éducation juridique dans le domaine du droit des médias, la démocratisation et le processus d'adhésion à l'UE des facultés du réseau SEELS et de l'Institut Europa de l'Université de la Sarre (Allemagne), soutenu financièrement par DAAD et Fédéral
Ministère des affaires étrangères de l'Allemagne.

Le projet favorise la liberté des médias dans les pays candidats à l’Europe du Sud-Est, ainsi que dans l’Union européenne elle-même. En se familiarisant avec la législation sur les médias, les étudiants en tant que futurs avocats seront probablement plus au courant des infractions connexes dans leurs travaux futurs en tant que juges, avocats, fonctionnaires et praticiens. Le programme sera présenté en anglais avec une sélection des sujets suivants (liste préliminaire, des modifications seront possibles): Introduction au droit constitutionnel à la liberté d'expression, en particulier la liberté de la presse et des médias; Jugements importants de la CJUE et de la CEDH; L'exception constitutionnelle relative au discours de haine et l'interdiction du discours de haine; Droit national et européen relatif à la diffamation dans le contexte des médias; Protection de la vie privée en tant que limitation de la liberté des médias; Haine et obscénité raciales et religieuses; Restrictions de sécurité nationale; La réglementation de la presse écrite et audiovisuelle; Outrage à la cour et protection des sources des journalistes; Particularités des médias numériques et sociaux; Aperçu des lois nationales et européennes sur les médias; Discussion avec les parties prenantes sur leur travail pratique et les restrictions quotidiennes

Il y a 26 places disponibles et la sélection est basée sur les critères d'éligibilité suivants:

La participation à l'université d'été se verra attribuer un certificat de réussite, à condition d'assister régulièrement aux cours et de mener à bien les tâches demandées. Ce sera la décision individuelle de l’institution académique du participant si le certificat est reconnu pour l’obtention de l’ECTS.

Les candidats sélectionnés recevront des SUBVENTIONS DE VOYAGE ET D'HÉBERGEMENT.

 

Découvrez des opportunités en Croatie

N'oubliez pas de mentionner mina7 lors de votre candidature.

Opportunités: Séminaire et colloque

Pays hôte: Croatie

Partagez avec plaisir

Choisissez votre destination d'études


Choisissez le pays que vous souhaitez le visiter pour étudier gratuitement, travailler ou faire du bénévolat

Vous trouvez aussi


Pas encore membre ? S'enregistrer