TWAS Award for Arab and African Mathematical Scientist 2020

TWAS Award for Arab and African Mathematical Scientist 2020

Visit institution page


Nonprofit organization
15 Jun 2020
Study level
Opportunity type
Eligible Countries
Eligible Region
All Regions

The World Academy of Sciences is offering a new award, starting from the year 2020, this new award is named after TWAS’s late Vice President for the Arab Region, Prof. Mohammed A.Hamdan.

This new award will be given for outstanding mathematical work carried out by a scientist working and living in Africa or Arab regions, to provide an incentive for scientists to do their best work while winning global recognition. 

As a Member of Academy since 1988, Prof. Hamdan was deeply committed to the cause and objectives of TWAS and for many years he actively supported us and held the position of TWAS Vice-President for the Arab countries on the TWAS Council.

His true commitment to the cause and mission of TWAS in sustaining scientific capacity building in the developing world was so strong that he endowed a large sum to TWAS to establish an award in his name.

Eligibility criteria:

  1. The award will be given for outstanding mathematical work (pure, applied, probability, statistics).
  2. Eligible candidates are national of an African or Arab country, who have been living and working there for a minimum of two years immediately prior to their nomination. 
  3. Fellows of TWAS are not eligible. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Selection process:

Selection is made on scientific merit. A pre-screening of the nominees will be done at TWAS, The nomination dossiers of the qualified candidates will then be submitted to jury members for their evaluation.  


The award, consisting of USD 5,000 and a certificate, will be given every two years to a mathematical scientist working and living in Africa or Arab regions.

Required documentation:

The following three documents must be attached to the e-mail message:

  1. The nomination form;
  2. The candidate's curriculum vitae, including a full list of publications.
  3. A supporting statement by the nominator.

About The World Academy of Sciences:

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is a merit-based science academy established for developing countries, uniting 1,000 scientists in some 70 countries. Its principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in developing countries. It was formerly known as the Third World Academy of Sciences. Its headquarters is located on the premises of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy.

TWAS was founded in 1983 under the leadership of the Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan by a group of distinguished scientists who were determined to do something about the dismal state of scientific research in developing countries.

See more available Phd scholarships on Mina7

See more available opportunities in Germany on Mina7

Choose your study destination

Choose the country you wish to travel to study for free, work or volunteer