World Tales Short Story Competition Offered by UNESCO with Vaulable Prizes 2020

World Tales Short Story Competition Offered by UNESCO with Vaulable Prizes 2020



Nonprofit organization, Browse similar opportunities


Total reward
0 $
Nonprofit organization
15 Oct 2020
Study level
Opportunity type
Opportunity funding
Full funding
Eligible Countries
Eligible Region
All Regions

With the aim to foster imagination, resourcefulness and ingenuity, UNESCO and the Idries Shah Foundation (ISF) launch the World Tales Short Story Competition in close collaboration with the International Coalition of Inclusive and Sustainable Cities of UNESCO (ICCAR). Young teenagers from all over the globe are invited to write about challenges of today and tomorrow in the format of a short story, and share their perspectives.

The theme of this 2020 First Edition is “Once upon a time in my future”.

Climate change, human rights violations, conflicts, racism and discrimination are among many threats to our present and future. In the face of adversity and the manifold consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic, creative young minds need to be encouraged to find innovative solutions.

Eligibility criteria:

  1. Participants must be between 12 and 18 years old (inclusive).
  2. The Competition is open to all regardless of their nationality or city of residence.
  3. Short stories of 250 to 500 words;
  4. Typed in English or French using Arial 12-point Regular font;
  5. Original unpublished works of fiction;
  6. Stories on the potential for future societies to be fair, inclusive, peaceful, resilient, sustainable and/or tolerant.
  7. Each participants gets to submit one story to the competition.
  8. Attention: please note that entries not respecting all of the requirements will not be considered.
  9. Download the complete set of rules.

Evaluation criteria

The short stories will be evaluated primarily on their degree of creativity and imagination.
 Participants will benefit from a particular leniency for potential grammatical and linguistic mistakes.


  • Three Laureates — Gold, Silver and Bronze — will be selected from each of the seven national and regional Coalitions forming ICCAR. All 21 names will be announced on December 2020.
  • We regret to announce that, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it will unfortunately not be possible to organize a high-level conference at UNESCO Headquarters, as initially planned, and to invite the laureates to attend.
  • However, all will be invited to attended an online Award ceremony in December 2020 during which the names of the seven Gold winning laureates will be announced.
  • Each of these Gold winning laureates will be awarded an iPad.
  • The Idries Shah Foundation will publish the work of the 21 laureates in a special edition hardcover book. It will feature all winning short stories and honorable mentions, and will be made available in ePub format.
  • All winning laureates will receive a copy of the book, and a personalized certificate.
  • Schools and cities of the 21 laureates will receive copies of the book and a set of ISF children’s books for their public libraries.


United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) based in Paris, founded in 1945. Its declared purpose is to contribute to peace and security by promoting international collaboration through educational, scientific, and cultural reforms in order to increase universal respect for justice, the rule of law, and human rights along with fundamental freedom proclaimed in the United Nations charter. UNESCO pursues its objectives through five major programs: education, natural sciences, social/human sciences, culture and communication/information. 

See more available online courses on Mina7

See more available job opportunities in Jordan on Mina7

Other organizations

Add Question

Choose your study destination

Choose the country you wish to travel to study for free, work or volunteer