The Peter Drucker Challenge -The value of the “Renaissance Manager”
Peter Drucker Challenge

The Peter Drucker Challenge -The value of the “Renaissance Manager”

Austria 24 Jun 2019

ABOUT THE INSTITUTION

The "Global Peter Drucker Challenge" is an international essay contest for young professionals and students organized by the Peter Drucker Society Europe

 

Visit institution page

OPPORTUNITY DETAILS

Nonprofit organization
Area
Host Country
Deadline
24 Jun 2019
Study level
Opportunity type
Specialities
Eligible Countries
This opportunity is destined for all countries
Eligible Region
All Regions

Since the late Middle Ages, the notion of the “Renaissance Man” has celebrated those people who are well-rounded, broadly knowledgeable and capable across the arts and the sciences, and able to approach problems holistically. This year marks the five hundredth year since the passing of the world’s most famous Renaissance Man: Leonardo da Vinci, the Italian polymath who simultaneously excelled as scientist, engineer, writer, artist, and musician.

Today, highly educated people tend more toward specialization, but in settings that still encourage cross-disciplinary thinking, people are more likely to …

 The renowned twentieth-century thinker Peter Drucker offers a modern exemplar of a Renaissance Man in the field of management—itself a multidisciplinary subject. In an age when the work of running organizations was typically approached as an engineering and optimization challenge, he described management as a “liberal art.” Its best practitioners, he insisted, have always drawn on the wisdom, self-knowledge, and enlightened understanding that comes with a liberal education and continually refined their “art” through practice and application.*

Drucker lived long after da Vinci, yet shared some of the Renaissance master’s fundamental traits. Both were unusual in their intellect and talents; each was driven by an insatiable curiosity about the world around him; neither conformed to the mainstream mindset. Like da Vinci, Drucker was born in a period of great social change, when the need for continuity (and reverence of tradition) was challenged by the need for innovation (and radical thinking). Both adopted a whole-systems perspective as they looked for connections and patterns.** For leaders, organizations, governments, and individuals today, both offer inspiring examples of the power of breaking rigid thinking patterns.

General requirements

Essay category requirements
You can submit one essay to participate as either a student or a professional

Student category

Professional category

You are a

A cash prize of EUR 1,000 (to be given at awards ceremony)

Second and Third Prize Winners

Finalists Ranked Places 4 to 10

Places 11 to 20

If you qualified for the Second Round of judging without being selected as one of the 10 finalists, you will receive free participation and waived registration fee (regular fee +/- € 2,000) for the 11th Global Peter Drucker Forum to be held in Vienna on November 21-22, 2019 at the Imperial Palace (Hofburg), including conference bag and brochure, buffet lunches, and coffee breaks at the conference venue

You must make your own arrangements for travel and accommodation in order to attending the Forum. No cash refund.

In any case, you will be eligible for the opportunity to win the Special Recognition Award for the most original essay (reimbursement based on our travel process & policy)

In order to apply, you must fill in the application form.

For more information please visit the official website.

Choose your study destination


Choose the country you wish to travel to study for free, work or volunteer

Please find also


Featured tags


courses 2021 courses

The Peter Drucker Challenge -The value of the “Renaissance Manager”

Date limite : 24 juin 2019

Organisation à but non lucratif: Peter Drucker Challenge

Spécialités: Beaux arts , Journalisme , littérature

Niveau d'études: Etudiant

Consultée 1703 fois

The Peter Drucker Challenge -The value of the “Renaissance Manager”

Depuis la fin du Moyen Âge, la notion d '«homme de la Renaissance» a rendu hommage à ceux qui ont une bonne formation, une grande connaissance et une grande capacité dans les domaines des arts et des sciences et qui sont capables de traiter les problèmes de manière globale. Cette année marque le cinq centième anniversaire du décès de l’homme de la Renaissance le plus célèbre au monde: Léonard de Vinci, le grand homme italien, qui a simultanément excellé en tant que scientifique, ingénieur, écrivain, artiste et musicien.

De nos jours, les personnes très instruites tendent davantage à la spécialisation, mais dans les contextes qui encouragent toujours la pensée interdisciplinaire, les gens sont plus susceptibles de…

 Peter Drucker, célèbre penseur du XXe siècle, offre un exemple moderne d'un homme de la Renaissance dans le domaine de la gestion, un sujet multidisciplinaire. À une époque où le travail des organisations dirigeantes était généralement considéré comme un défi d’ingénierie et d’optimisation, il a décrit la gestion comme un «art libéral». Ses meilleurs praticiens, at-il insisté, ont toujours fait appel à la sagesse, à la connaissance de soi et à une compréhension éclairée. qui vient avec une éducation libérale et perfectionne continuellement leur «art» à travers la pratique et l'application. *

Drucker a vécu longtemps après Vinci, tout en partageant certains traits fondamentaux du maître de la Renaissance. Les deux étaient inhabituels dans leur intellect et leurs talents; chacun était animé d'une insatiable curiosité pour le monde qui l'entourait; ni conforme à la mentalité traditionnelle. Comme Da Vinci, Drucker est né à une époque de grands changements sociaux, lorsque le besoin de continuité (et le respect de la tradition) était mis au défi par le besoin d’innovation (et de pensée radicale). Tous deux ont adopté une perspective globale en cherchant des connexions et des schémas **. Pour les dirigeants, les organisations, les gouvernements et les individus d'aujourd'hui, les deux offrent des exemples inspirants du pouvoir de briser les schémas de pensée rigides.

Exigences générales

Exigences de la catégorie d'essai
Vous pouvez soumettre un essai pour participer en tant qu'étudiant ou professionnel

Catégorie d'étudiant

Catégorie professionnelle

Tu es un

Un prix en espèces de 1 000 EUR (à remettre lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix)

Gagnants des deuxième et troisième prix

Les finalistes ont classé les places 4 à 10

Places 11 à 20

Si vous vous qualifiez pour le deuxième tour de jury sans être sélectionné parmi les 10 finalistes, vous bénéficierez d'une participation gratuite et de frais d'inscription supprimés (tarif normal +/- 2 000 €) pour le onzième Forum mondial Peter Drucker qui se tiendra à Vienne le 21-22 novembre 2019 au palais impérial (Hofburg), avec sac de conférence et brochure, déjeuners buffet et pauses café sur le lieu de la conférence

Vous devez organiser vous-même votre voyage et votre hébergement pour pouvoir participer au Forum. Aucun remboursement en espèces.

Dans tous les cas, vous aurez la possibilité de gagner le Prix de reconnaissance spéciale pour l'essai le plus original (remboursement basé sur notre procédure et politique de voyage).

Pour postuler, vous devez remplir le formulaire de candidature.

Pour plus d'informations s'il vous plaît visitez le site officiel.

 

Découvrez des opportunités en Autriche

N'oubliez pas de mentionner mina7 lors de votre candidature.

Opportunités: Compétition , Prix , Bourse

Pays hôte: Autriche

Pays éligible: Cette opportunité est destiné à tous les pays

RESTEZ CONNECTÉ

Mina7 apps

Choisissez votre destination d'études


Choisissez le pays que vous souhaitez le visiter pour étudier gratuitement, travailler ou faire du bénévolat

Vous trouvez aussi


Mots clés

compétition 2020 compétitions

Conseils et guide d'étude à l'étranger