en

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize

online 01 Nov 2019
Commonwealth Commission

Commonwealth Commission

Nonprofit organization, Browse similar opportunities

OPPORTUNITY DETAILS

Total reward
0 $
Nonprofit organization
Area
Host Country
Deadline
01 Nov 2019
Study level
Opportunity type
Opportunity funding
Full funding
Eligible Countries
This opportunity is destined for all countries
Eligible Region
All Regions

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation. The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is run by Commonwealth Writers, the cultural initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation.

The prize covers the Commonwealth regions of 1. Africa, 2. Asia, 3. Canada and Europe, 4. Caribbean and 5. Pacific. (See Section 5 for countries in each region).  The international judging panel comprises one judge from each of the five regions. Please note that while the entries will be judged regionally, all judges will read and deliberate on entries from all regions.

The final selection will be judged by an international judging panel; experienced readers will assist the named judges in selecting the longlist.

Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country – please see Section 5 for the list of Commonwealth countries – or stateless persons currently residing in a Commonwealth country. The Commonwealth Foundation will request verification of citizenship status before winners are selected. Entries from citizens of non-Commonwealth countries are not eligible.

For regional purposes, entries will be judged by country of citizenship. Where the writer has dual citizenship (of two Commonwealth countries), the entry will be judged in the region where the writer is permanently resident.

There is no requirement for the writer to have current residence in a Commonwealth country, providing that they are a citizen of a Commonwealth country.

Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2019.

All entries will be accepted at the discretion of the Commonwealth Foundation which will exercise its judgment, in consultation with the prize chair, in ruling on questions of eligibility. The ruling of the chair on questions of eligibility is final, and no further correspondence will be entered into.

Entries from previous overall winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize are not eligible. Entries from previous regional winners are eligible.

Entries from current members of staff at the Commonwealth Foundation are not eligible.

h. Entries must be unpublished and remain unpublished in any language until 1 May 2020.

Please read the entry rules here.

There will be five winners, one from each region. One regional winner will be selected as the overall winner. The overall winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500. If the winning short story is a translation into English, the translator will receive additional prize money.

Please read these eligibility and entry rules before beginning the online entry process. The online form is available from the opening date: 1 September 2019. Submission of an entry is taken as acceptance of the entry rules.

For any entry or eligibility queries not covered below, please email [email protected] for clarification before submitting an entry.

 

Other organizations


Add Question

Choose your study destination


Choose the country you wish to travel to study for free, work or volunteer

Featured tags


grants 2022 grant Art contest contests 2023 Mälardalen University scholarship programme 2022 grant results awards 2022 contests 2022 contests and prizes 2022 Cultural competitions 2022 Job Competition 2022 Recruitment Competition 2022 Online Contest 2022 Research Contest

fr

Le prix de la nouvelle du Commonwealth

Le prix de la nouvelle du Commonwealth

online 01 nov. 2019
Commission du Commonwealth

Commission du Commonwealth

Organisation à but non lucratif, Parcourir ses opportunités similaires

DÉTAILS OPPORTUNITÉ

Organisation à but non lucratif
Région
Pays hôte
Date limite
01 nov. 2019
Niveau d'études
Type d'opportunité
Financement d'opportunité
Financement complet
Pays éligibles
Cette opportunité est destiné à tous les pays
Région éligible
Toutes les régions

Le Commonwealth Short Story Prize est un prix annuel décerné à une nouvelle fiction non publiée administrée et financée par la Commonwealth Foundation. Le Commonwealth Short Story Prize est géré par Commonwealth Writers, l'initiative culturelle de la Commonwealth Foundation.

Le prix couvre les régions du Commonwealth: 1. Afrique, 2. Asie, 3. Canada et Europe, 4. Caraïbes et 5. Pacifique. (Voir la section 5 pour les pays de chaque région). Le jury international est composé d'un juge de chacune des cinq régions. Veuillez noter que même si les candidatures seront évaluées au niveau régional, tous les juges liront et délibéreront sur les candidatures de toutes les régions.

La sélection finale sera jugée par un jury international. des lecteurs expérimentés assisteront les juges nommés dans la sélection de la longue liste.

Les participants doivent être citoyens d'un pays du Commonwealth - veuillez consulter la section 5 pour la liste des pays du Commonwealth - ou des apatrides résidant actuellement dans un pays du Commonwealth. La Commonwealth Foundation demandera la vérification du statut de citoyenneté avant la sélection des gagnants. Les inscriptions de citoyens de pays non membres du Commonwealth ne sont pas éligibles.

Aux fins régionales, les entrées seront jugées par pays de citoyenneté. Lorsque l'auteur a la double nationalité (de deux pays du Commonwealth), l'entrée sera jugée dans la région où l'auteur réside en permanence.

Il n'est pas nécessaire que l'auteur ait sa résidence actuelle dans un pays du Commonwealth, à condition qu'il soit citoyen d'un pays du Commonwealth.

Les participants doivent être âgés de 18 ans ou plus au 1er novembre 2019.

Toutes les inscriptions seront acceptées à la discrétion de la Commonwealth Foundation qui exercera son jugement, en consultation avec le président du prix, en statuant sur les questions d'éligibilité. La décision du président sur les questions d’admissibilité est définitive et aucune autre correspondance ne sera entamée.

Les participations des précédents gagnants du prix Commonwealth Short Story ne sont pas éligibles. Les participations d'anciens gagnants régionaux sont éligibles.

Les inscriptions des membres actuels du personnel de la Fondation du Commonwealth ne sont pas éligibles.

h. Les entrées doivent être non publiées et le rester dans toutes les langues jusqu'au 1er mai 2020.

Veuillez lire les règles d'entrée ici.

Il y aura cinq gagnants, un de chaque région. Un gagnant régional sera sélectionné comme gagnant général. Le grand gagnant du Commonwealth Short Story Prize recevra 5 000 £ et les quatre autres lauréats régionaux 2 500 £. Si la nouvelle gagnante est une traduction en anglais, le traducteur recevra un prix supplémentaire.

Veuillez lire ces règles d’éligibilité et d’entrée avant de commencer le processus d’inscription en ligne. Le formulaire en ligne est disponible à partir de la date d'ouverture: le 1er septembre 2019.

La soumission d'une participation vaut acceptation du règlement de participation.

Pour toute question relative à une participation ou à l'éligibilité non couverte ci-dessous, veuillez envoyer un courrier électronique à [email protected] afin d'obtenir des éclaircissements avant de soumettre votre candidature.

 

Autres organisations


Ajouter votre question

Choisissez votre destination d'études


Choisissez le pays que vous souhaitez le visiter pour étudier gratuitement, travailler ou faire du bénévolat

Mots clés


subvention 2022 bourse Concours d'art compétitions 2023 Programme de bourses de l'Université de Mälardalen Résultats de la subvention 2022 prix 2022 compétition 2022 compétitions et prix 2022 Compétitions culturelles Concours emploi 2022 Concours de recrutement 2022 Concours 2022 en ligne Concours de recherche 2022