Post Doctorat : Ligne SIRIUS
SOLEIL Synchrotron

Post Doctorat : Ligne SIRIUS

France 20 Apr 2021

ABOUT THE INSTITUTION

Soleil is a particle accelerator that produces synchrotron radiation, extremely powerful light source for exploring inert or living matter.
Visit institution page

OPPORTUNITY DETAILS

State University
Area
Host Country
Deadline
20 Apr 2021
Study level
Opportunity type
Specialities
Eligible Countries
This opportunity is destined for all countries
Eligible Region
All Regions

SOLEIL is the French national synchrotron facility, located on the Saclay Plateau near Paris. It is a multi-disciplinary instrument and research laboratory whose mission is to conduct research using synchrotron radiation, to develop cutting edge instrumentation on the beamlines, and to make these developments available to the scientific community. SOLEIL synchrotron, a unique tool for both academic research and industrial applications across a wide range of disciplines including physics, biology, chemistry etc., opened in 2008. It is used annually by thousands researchers from France and abroad. SOLEIL is based on a synchrotron source that is state-of-the-art both in terms of brilliance and stability. This large scale facility, a partner of the Université Paris Saclay, is a “publically owned” private company, founded by the CNRS and the CEA.

The SIRIUS beamline of SOLEIL works in the energy range from 1.2 Kev to 13 keV and serves two scientific communities: the first is active in the field Soft Interfaces and the second in the field Semiconductors, Oxides and Magnetic materials. This post-doc position is open for working on the topics of the second scientific community.

The beamline is designed to perform both x-ray diffraction and x-ray absorption in the hard and tender x-ray range, with dedicated instrumentation for working, at  grazing incidence, on surfaces, interfaces and nanostructures. Moreover, the beamline is able to measure high quality Diffraction Anomalous Fine Structure (DAFS) spectra and the possibility of changing x-ray polarization (linear vertical, linear horizontal, circular) given by a HU36 undulator source makes it also suitable for dichroism and resonant magnetic scattering studies. Unprecedented high flux, coupled to good spectral resolution in the tender x-ray, is provided thanks to a novel multilayer grating monochromator, developed in collaboration with SOLEIL optics group. The beamline has been optimized since 2014 to host an atomic layer deposition reactor (developed in the frame of the MOON ANR project) for performing in situ characterization of the incipient growth of oxide nanostructures [1]. This reactor has been very recently adapted to the growth of transition metal dichalcogenides. The high potential of the beamline for working in the tender x-ray has been made fully available via the installation of a 4-circle diffractometer operated under high vacuum in 2018 [2]. 

The ULTiMeD project

We are looking for a post-doctoral researcher (m/f) who will work at the SIRIUS beamline of synchrotron SOLEIL (Saint-Aubin, Paris area, France) under the supervision of one of our beamline scientists (Dr. Gianluca Ciatto) and in the frame of a new project, named ULTiMeD, funded by the French ANR.

ULTiMeD aims at the atomic-level control over ultrathin 2D layers of Transition Metal Dichalcogenides [3], semiconductor materials with many potential applications, by a Molecular Layer Deposition (MLD) route [4]. The strategy consists in investigating the early stage of deposition and crystallization of 2D SnS2 and TiS2 films processed with organo-sulfides as sulphur source (instead of the classical H2S, adopting a “green” chemistry approach) using the custom-built portable ALD reactor “MOON”.  SnS2 and TiS2 are preferable to the more studied MoS2 and WS2 for the easier integration in devices. The MOON reactor is specifically designed to perform in situ characterization studies during growth by using a suite of synchrotron X-ray structural and spectroscopic techniques (fluorescence, diffraction, absorption) along with complementary analysis (ellipsometry, residual gas analysis) [5-7]. The part of the project to be performed at SIRIUS focuses on the in situ chemical and structural characterization during deposition and annealing. The results of this characterization will be used to optimize the MLD.

Scientific Environment

ULTiMeD is in collaboration with several partners (LMGP, Grenoble; C2P2, Lyon; IPVF, Palaiseau, SOLEIL, CEA-Leti); these collaborations will allow access to the most efficient “green” chemistry to be implemented in ALD, in situ Raman Scattering, X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy, and ab initio DFT calculations. The candidate will work within Synchrotron SOLEIL and in collaboration with all the other institutes involved.

Missions

Qualifications and Expertise

The candidate should hold a PhD in Physics, Materials Science, Chemistry, or associated disciplines.  Experience with synchrotron radiation techniques and in particular with X-ray absorption spectroscopy and relative analysis/simulation will be highly appreciated. 

Moreover, the following skills will be appreciated:

The position requires multidisciplinary skills, sense of responsibility and autonomy together with the ability to work within a team.

The candidate must be fluent in English (written and spoken). Knowledge of French may be useful, but it is not mandatory.

General conditions

This offer concerns a post-doctoral contract for a one year-period, renewable one time.

The remuneration will be based on the SOLEIL salary scale. A wide range of valuable training programs, research and upgrading opportunities will be accessible.  

The position will be available on the beginning of 2021.  Applications should include a motivation letter and Curriculum Vitae.

Contacts

Dr. Gianluca CIATTO (scientist) gianluca.ciatto@synchrotron-soleil.fr

Choose your study destination


Choose the country you wish to travel to study for free, work or volunteer

Please find also

Post Doctorat: Ligne SIRIUS
Synchrotron SOLEIL

Post Doctorat: Ligne SIRIUS

France 20 avr. 2021

À PROPOS L'INSTITUTION

Soleil est un accélérateur de particules qui produit un rayonnement synchrotron, une source lumineuse extrêmement puissante pour explorer la matière inerte ou vivante.
Visiter la page de l'institution

DÉTAILS OPPORTUNITÉ

Université étatique
Région
Pays hôte
Date limite
20 avr. 2021
Niveau d'études
Type d'opportunité
Spécialités
Pays éligibles
Cette opportunité est destiné à tous les pays
Région éligible
Toutes les régions

SOLEIL est le synchrotron national français, situé sur le plateau de Saclay près de Paris. C'est un instrument multidisciplinaire et un laboratoire de recherche dont la mission est de mener des recherches utilisant le rayonnement synchrotron, de développer une instrumentation de pointe sur les lignes de lumière et de mettre ces développements à la disposition de la communauté scientifique. Le synchrotron SOLEIL, outil unique pour la recherche académique et les applications industrielles dans un large éventail de disciplines dont la physique, la biologie, la chimie, etc., a ouvert en 2008. Il est utilisé chaque année par des milliers de chercheurs français et étrangers. SOLEIL est basé sur une source synchrotron à la pointe de la technologie tant en termes de brillance que de stabilité. Cette grande installation, partenaire de l'Université Paris Saclay, est une entreprise privée «publique», fondée par le CNRS et le CEA.

La ligne SIRIUS de SOLEIL fonctionne dans la gamme d'énergie de 1,2 Kev à 13 keV et dessert deux communautés scientifiques: la première est active dans le domaine des interfaces douces et la seconde dans le domaine des semi-conducteurs, oxydes et matériaux magnétiques. Ce poste de post-doc est ouvert pour travailler sur les sujets de la deuxième communauté scientifique.

La ligne de lumière est conçue pour effectuer à la fois la diffraction des rayons X et l'absorption des rayons X dans la gamme des rayons X durs et tendres, avec une instrumentation dédiée pour le travail, à incidence rasante, sur des surfaces, des interfaces et des nanostructures. De plus, la ligne de lumière est capable de mesurer des spectres DAFS (Diffraction Anomalous Fine Structure) de haute qualité et la possibilité de changer la polarisation des rayons X (linéaire verticale, linéaire horizontale, circulaire) donnée par une source ondulante HU36 la rend également adaptée au dichroïsme et à la résonance. études de diffusion magnétique. Un flux élevé sans précédent, couplé à une bonne résolution spectrale dans le rayon X tendre, est assuré grâce à un nouveau monochromateur à réseau multicouche, développé en collaboration avec le groupe d'optique SOLEIL. La ligne de lumière est optimisée depuis 2014 pour accueillir un réacteur de dépôt de couche atomique (développé dans le cadre du projet MOON ANR) pour effectuer la caractérisation in situ de la croissance naissante de nanostructures d'oxydes [1]. Ce réacteur a été très récemment adapté à la croissance de dichalcogénures de métaux de transition. Le potentiel élevé de la ligne de lumière pour travailler dans les rayons X d'appel d'offres a été rendu pleinement disponible grâce à l'installation d'un diffractomètre à 4 cercles fonctionnant sous vide poussé en 2018 [2].

Le projet ULTiMeD

Nous recherchons un post-doctorant (h / f) qui travaillera sur la ligne SIRIUS du synchrotron SOLEIL (Saint-Aubin, région parisienne, France) sous la direction d'un de nos scientifiques de la ligne (Dr Gianluca Ciatto) et dans le cadre d'un nouveau projet, baptisé ULTiMeD, financé par l'ANR française.

ULTiMeD vise le contrôle au niveau atomique de couches 2D ultrafines de dichalcogénures de métaux de transition [3], des matériaux semi-conducteurs avec de nombreuses applications potentielles, par une voie de dépôt de couche moléculaire (MLD) [4]. La stratégie consiste à étudier le stade précoce de dépôt et de cristallisation de films 2D SnS 2 et TiS 2 traités avec des organo-sulfures comme source de soufre (au lieu du H 2 S classique, en adoptant une approche de chimie «verte») en utilisant le réacteur ALD portable «MOON». SnS 2 et TiS 2 sont préférables aux MoS 2 et WS 2 plus étudiés pour une intégration plus facile dans les appareils. Le réacteur MOON est spécifiquement conçu pour réaliser des études de caractérisation in situ pendant la croissance en utilisant une suite de techniques structurelles et spectroscopiques aux rayons X synchrotron (fluorescence, diffraction, absorption) ainsi que des analyses complémentaires (ellipsométrie, analyse des gaz résiduels) [5-7] . La partie du projet à réaliser chez SIRIUS se concentre sur la caractérisation chimique et structurale in situ pendant le dépôt et le recuit. Les résultats de cette caractérisation seront utilisés pour optimiser la MLD.

Environnement scientifique

ULTiMeD est en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires (LMGP, Grenoble; C2P2, Lyon; IPVF, Palaiseau, SOLEIL, CEA-Leti); ces collaborations permettront d'accéder à la chimie «verte» la plus efficace à mettre en œuvre dans l'ALD, la diffusion Raman in situ, la spectroscopie photoélectronique à rayons X et les calculs ab initio DFT. Le candidat travaillera au sein du Synchrotron SOLEIL et en collaboration avec tous les autres instituts impliqués.

Missions

Qualifications et expertise

Le candidat doit être titulaire d'un doctorat en physique, science des matériaux, chimie ou disciplines associées. L'expérience des techniques de rayonnement synchrotron et en particulier de la spectroscopie d'absorption des rayons X et de l'analyse / simulation relative sera très appréciée.

De plus, les compétences suivantes seront appréciées:

Le poste requiert des compétences multidisciplinaires, un sens des responsabilités et une autonomie ainsi que la capacité de travailler en équipe.

Le candidat doit maîtriser l'anglais (écrit et parlé). La connaissance du français peut être utile, mais ce n'est pas obligatoire.

Conditions générales

Cette offre concerne un contrat post-doctoral d'une durée d'un an, renouvelable une fois.

La rémunération sera basée sur l'échelle salariale de SOLEIL. Un large éventail de programmes de formation, d'opportunités de recherche et de mise à niveau valables sera accessible.

Le poste sera disponible début 2021. Les candidatures doivent inclure une lettre de motivation et un Curriculum Vitae.

Contacts

Dr Gianluca CIATTO (scientifique) gianluca.ciatto@synchrotron-soleil.fr

Choisissez votre destination d'études


Choisissez le pays que vous souhaitez le visiter pour étudier gratuitement, travailler ou faire du bénévolat

Vous trouverez aussi